May 16, 2024

Roger Bortignon – Program Head Technology Teacher Education Program British Columbia Institute of Technology 3700 Willingdon Ave., Building: SW9 Office: 201Q Burnaby, BC V5G-3H2

Dear Mr. Bortigon,

RE: Letter of Support for British Columbia Institute of Technology request to Ministry of Advanced Education and Skills Training

Thank you for contacting Viveka Johnson, Superintendent for School District 5 (SD5), Southeast Kootenay, via email, on April 11, 2024, to outline your proposal to expand the training of Technology Education teachers in BC with an aim to increase the number of graduates and provide qualified educators to fill the many teacher vacancies in school districts across the province.

We are encouraged to hear that the British Columbia Institute of Technology (BCIT) now has the capacity to support a request to the Ministry of Advanced Education and Skills Training (MAEST) for funding to support additional students to your technology teacher training program and are happy to support this endeavour, and your request to the MAEST.

At the School District 5 (SD5), Southeast Kootenay public Board Meeting of May 14th, 2024, the Board carried the following motion:

THAT a letter of support be written by the Board of Education to BCIT in support of the expansion and improvement of the program to increase trades and technical teachers in British Columbia.

We are hopeful that your request will be thoughtfully considered, and approved by the MAEST, as our Board believes that any additional spaces you are able to offer will be quickly filled, and that these graduates will greatly help to alleviate the pressures felt by most –If not all—school districts across the province as they struggle to fill these teaching positions. Until these positions are filled by qualified professionals, our students

Doug McPhee (Chair) • Trina Ayling • Bev Bellina • Irene Bischler • Alysha Clarke • Nicole Heckendorf • Chris Johns • Sarah Madsen • Wendy Turner

will continue to be disadvantaged in their K - 12 education and limited in their post-graduation opportunities.

Our Board wishes to thank you for your efforts and wishes you every success in this endeavour.

Sincerely,

Doug McPhee, Board Chair

Cc*: Hon. David Eby, Premier, Province of BC

Hon. Melanie Mark, Minister, Advanced Education and Skills Training

Hon. Rachna Singh, Minister, Education and Child Care

Kevin Falcon, Leader, BC United Party

John Rustad, Leader, BC Conservative Party

Sonia Furstenau, Leader, BC Green Party

Tom Shypitka, MLA Kootenay East

Carolyn Broady, President, BCSTA

BCSTA for distribution to member Boards of Education

Dawn Lang, President, Kootenay Boundary Branch (KBB), for distribution to KBB members

Clint Johnston, President BC Teachers' Federation

Laura Ward, President, BCCPAC

Shelley Balfour & Adrienne Demers, CFTA Co-Chairs, for distribution to staff representatives

Sarah Mooy, SD5 CUPE President

Lies Salvador, DPAC Chair

Aaron Thorn, President, SD5 Administrators' Association

Chris Walker/Corey Bullock, CBC Radio

Dennis Walker, 107.5 Today FM Radio

Wylie Henderson, Rewind Radio 102.9

Jeff Johnson, Wild B104 Radio

Josiah Spyker/Ryley McCormack, 107.5 Today FM

Barry Coulter/Trevor Crawley, Cranbrook Daily Townsman

Ian Cobb, e-know Online News

Joshua Fischlin, Fernie Free Press

SD5 Trustees and District Management

Doug McPhee (Chair) • Trina Ayling • Bev Bellina • Irene Bischler • Alysha Clarke • Nicole Heckendorf • Chris Johns • Sarah Madsen • Wendy Turner

^{*}This correspondence is public and transparent. Please feel free to share and/or respond with comment.